Shawl Drama

So, shawls. I’ve done one before, and that’s about it. I didn’t really think I’d dip my designing hands into the shawl pool, but here they are, all wet. It all started last week, when I was assigned to knit up another sample for Good Karma. They didn’t have any samples on hand for a particular pattern, so that’s what I was going to do.

One problem: the skein of Edna Yarn they handed me was one I knew. I’d painted it myself months back, and was at one point planning to buy it myself if nobody beat me to it. Now here I was, having to knit a sample out of something I felt sort of attached to. I thought, “there’s no way I’m going to waste my beautiful creation on this other pattern!” But what alternative did I have? At the time, none, but within hours a pattern was unfolding in my head.

Of course, whether it was done in my coveted skein or some other, the other sample still needed doing. Eventually I just got over myself and did it, and that’s what you’ve been seeing here. Despite any personal misgivings, it is a fine pattern, and good show of the yarn. But that other pattern? The one I wrote? Well, you’ll have to wait until next time for that. But it’s coming!

Comments are closed.

