Found It!

Did I tell you, I’m making a pair of socks? And I’m writing a pattern for them, too! Not that I know what I’m doing, but it’s a nice attempt. I’d meant to show you earlier, but as soon as I finished the left sock, it went missing! Anyway, I’m in the home stretch of the second sock, and the first one decided to come back to me. Thought I’d share pictures.

It’s a stitch design on the wrong side of a jacket my wife owns. I like to think of it as a classier seed stitch, with yarn overs and brioche knit stitches worked into it. One thing I like about designing my own socks: custom fit. Seriously, look at your bare foot. Are the toes symmetrical? More likely, you have a big honker of a toe on the instep side, and a bunch of smaller toes gradually sloping down the outside. So why not accommodate this? So in these socks, the toe increases are worked a couple more times on a single side of the foot. Easy fix, better fit.

Anyway. By now, I’ll be on my way back to Chi-town to see family. I’ll try to sneak in a post while I’m there, but if you don’t hear from me for a week, that’d be the reason.

1 comment
  1. Linda said:

    That seems eminently sensible. Good luck on your socks; they look fantastic.

