Free Mouse Ears!

As the Red Hot Chili Peppers once said, “give it away, give it away, give it away now”.

Hello one and all! This may be your first time on my site, or you may be a regular reader, but regardless of who you are, this post is for you. Because you like free stuff, right? Of course you do.

Before we get to the good (free) stuff, we need to confront an ugly truth; namely, that unless you live near Belfast, ME, or your LYS carries their stuff, there’s a chance you haven’t heard of Good Karma Yarns. It’s a shame, because they put a ton of work into making some of the finest worsted-weight yarn I’ve ever worked with. Today, I’m going to give you a chance to experience their work first-hand.

This is “Mouse Ears”, Good Karma’s latest colorway. Soft grays and hints of delicate pink. Just what you’d expect from the name, I think. It’s 210 yards of worsted-weight heaven, 60% alpaca, 40% wool. I’m quite enamored with the stuff, and even bought a skein to keep for myself. The second skein, though, is what I’ll be giving away.

So here’s the deal: it’s a week to the dreaded holiday know as Valentine’s Day. In the spirit of that, I want you to tell me something you love about your favorite yarn, project, or about knitting in general. Each person who comments on this post between now and 11:59 PM EST, February 14th, will be entered into a random-number generator drawing. The winner gets the yarn! If you live outside the U.S. we can work something out with shipping, but for the most part I’ll cover shipping costs.

And hey, I’d love for you to come back and read more of my blog, so comments on future posts between now and V-Day will get you additional entries into the drawing. One entry per post commented on, not per comment. But hey, try to keep your comments substantial. I won’t enter you if you just say “yo”; at least ask me how my day was.

34 comments
  1. Hey Beardedknitter!

    I’m going to pick option 3 and tell you what I love about knitting in general.

    That is — I think I’ve always been fascinated by projects with many different steps. When I was a kid it was Lego models. Now its learning recipes for food that seem complicated to me (like baking a loaf of bread, ravioli from scratch, cheesecake), or construction projects my partner and I do.

    I love taking a string and some needles and creating something useful out of them – particularly clothing items that initially, to me, seem complicated. I would live in the pair of socks I kept for myself if I could – they are warmer than any socks in my house. Even warmer than wearing two socks per foot. I’m trying to get another pair out, but that’s after I share the “wealth” with a few family members.

    How’s the knew job going? Wait…maybe I shouldn’t ask since you’re not allowed to talk about it on here!!! πŸ˜‰

    • Well, I don’t know how much of the new job I’m allowed to talk about, but I will say that it’s going quite well, thanks! Great comment; as a former Lego enthusiast, I can really relate to it.

  2. marci said:

    It looks lovely! I’m test-knitting a child’s sweater with a stranded yoke, and I’m loving the experience of using 3 colors on a row — plus it looks great!

  3. Michaela said:

    Hi!
    Oh, I could tell you something I love about all three (yarn, project, AND knitting), but I’ll keep it short and sweet πŸ™‚ I love knitting because it helps me relax. I am in nursing school, and it tends to get pretty busy and stressful. On Monday, I finished my latest clinical rotation, and yesterday I cleaned my apartment all day because that tends to get neglected πŸ˜‰ In the evening, though, I sat down on my sofa, watched a couple of episodes of House MD, and KNIT!! It felt so good, and I finished the shawl I was making for my sister. I felt all nice and happy, and made something for someone I love. That’s what I love about knitting.
    Have a great day, and thanks for a chance to win and try some new yarn!

    • Nice! House MD and knitting are a very good combination in my book. Thanks for the wonderful comment!

  4. Rose said:

    Knitting helps me relax after spending the day working in front of a computer. πŸ™‚

  5. Linda said:

    I’m fascinated and awed by the process of starting with a string and, through the magic of looping around a stick, ending up with a functional item. I love the variety and the complexity of the stitches and how easy it is to personalize your project. And the colors and the yarns? Oh heaven! It’s practically intoxicating! I like having a yarn stash just so I can go through it every once in a while and rediscover old favorites. (I know, I’m a bit odd – my boyfriend calls me a yarn geek. So it goes…)

    p.s. I just ordered a colorway called ‘Ratfur’ from another indie dyer – sort of the same colors, but in a gradient dye.

    • Much agreed! I think it’s part of why I love working at a yarn spinnery; the way you can take a simple material and bring order and organization to it, whether from fleece to yarn or from yarn to socks. They’re all just tangles of protein, but the socks can represent hours of work and hundreds, if not thousands of tiny, deliberate acts of creation. Obviously, I find it fascinating as well.

      I’d love to know what indie dyer you got that other yarn from! “Ratfur” is an interesting name!

      • Linda said:

        Amy at Bohemia Fibers. She has a group on Ravelry and an Artfire Store. It all started as a joke, but she ended up with a delightful blending of cream to gray with a dollop of pink!

  6. rmwest said:

    Ohh fun! I love grey a ridiculous amount. My favorite thing about knitting is giving it away! I love knitting presents for people…right now I’m making a baby blanket for a friend and I’m so excited because someone’s finally having a GIRL baby, woo too!

    Also, I love that knitting keeps me from throwing things at the tv during basketball games. That could get unfortunate very quickly.

    • Hahaha. I can see how knitting would be a boon in those situations. Reminds me of those “I knit so nobody has to die” t-shirts!

  7. MarieHa said:

    Well, IΒ΄ve been knitting for some time and I love it because it can be creative, when you want to, mindless, when you need to, you can give the gift of teaching knitting…And knitting makes friends. If I hadnΒ΄t joined the knitting group a few month ago when we moved for a few months ago from Europe to the US, I might be depressed, lonely, bored…But I am just the opposite! Yay for knitting!

  8. patsy said:

    My favorite thing about knittig is finding new patterns to knit. I love to try new yarns, too, and I’ve never knitted with this one. Like the name, too. Mouse Ears

  9. Rose said:

    I just love to knit to relax and yet have something to do with my hands. I especially love charity knitting. I don’t often get to see the smile on their faces when children and people in need receive my hats and scarves but I feel great just knowing it is adding a bit of warmth and snuggles to people that can really use it.

  10. Dorothy said:

    I’ve never heard of Good Karma Yarns, but the Mouse Ears skein sure looks yummy! I love knitting hats and mittens for my kids. There’s just something about sending them out in the cold wrapped up in something I’ve made to keep them warm that gives me the warm and fuzzies!

  11. HollyCJ said:

    I think that the yarn is really beautiful and would love a chance to try it. My favorite thing about knitting may be a bit odd but I just love the fact that there is always the chance of a “do over”. What I mean by this is that knitting allows me to try different patterns, sizes, and techniques but if it doesn’t work out how I wanted it to there is no reason I can’t rip it out and the yarn isn’t ruined but ready for me to try again. I really like this freedom.

    • I actually really like–and use–that aspect of knitting a lot! I could never do something like paper cutting, where there’s so much permanence.

  12. Lisa said:

    That yarn is beautiful. I’m in New England in MA but I’ve never been to Belfast ME. Now I have a reason to visit.
    Thanks for this giveaway. I’ll subscribe to your blog so I get regular updates.

  13. Knittingdancer on Ravelry said:

    I love to knit shawls. I find knitting is very relazing to me and I have met some very nice people in the knitting world. The yarn would make a beautiful hat or pair of mittens. It is such a good neutral color.

  14. hilary said:

    I love the way I get into a zone when I’m knitting. I don’t listen to music or audiobooks; I just sit and knit and it’s the closest thing I have to a meditation practice.

  15. Morgan said:

    I love knitting because it turns non-productive time into something lovely and beautiful that can keep someone warm or amuse them in some way. I also love that knitting is the best stress relief that I have found short of medication πŸ˜›

    I love the new colourway, so nice for this time of year. Would love to make me some mittens!

    and how was your day?

    • My day was good! Any day when new yarn is acquired is a good day. πŸ™‚

  16. Fleur said:

    Hi there!

    Wonderful quote by the Peppers and a wonderful giveaway with that Mouse Ear Yarn. It looks lovely! I guess every yarn with alpaca is yarn with good karma, isn’t it?!

    Have a nice day, all! Ciao, Fleur (Fleurtje-Eliza on Ravelry)

  17. tami said:

    My favorite yarn this week is an alpaca/silk blend from a tiny little alpaca farm in oregon.
    ZZ alpacas. The yarn comes with pictures of the actual animal that it came from and a bit of their history. I just think that’s pretty cool. Plus, it’s like knitting butter.

  18. Sherry in Idaho said:

    Knitting makes me happy, keeps me sane, and keeps me from killing people.

  19. Mimi said:

    I love yarn and knitting because it helps me relax, make neat stuff for family, friends and myself, and contribute to the whole idea of self-sufficiency. It is refreshing to know that I can spend a small amount of money but a lot of heartfelt time and make an amazing garment or accessory, rather than contribute to the big box lazy way of getting impersonal items.

  20. cguard(on rav) said:

    How was your day? Mine was filled with busy little people. Knitting makes me happy because it gives me something to concentrate on besides the politics raging in our state.

  21. haha…rhcp reference = awesome!.. now on to the β™₯ love stuff β™₯- the thing i love about knitting is the community..i love feeling apart of a diverse group of people from all backgrounds, education levels, professions, parts of the world who simply love to create things..i think its a really powerful thing πŸ™‚

  22. Angela said:

    What I love about knitting. . . I find it a calming and relaxing activity. After a long day at work or dealing with household matters, I can go into my quiet space and breathe and knit. It is exciting to take a useless skein of yarn and create something that someone I care about will use/ enjoy/ cherish. Knitting is also a wonderful ice breaker. I tend to be rather shy and I love it when someone takes an interest in what I am making. . .it opens the doors to conversation that helps inspire creativity. Though I, more often than not, wind up giving away what I knit, when I do keep something, I love the sense of accomplishment when I am able to use/ wear something that I made. The time and effort and learning process make it that much more valuable to me .

  23. rebkatz said:

    That yarn looks so cozy and squooshable! How do I love knitting, let me count the ways… πŸ˜‰

    But seriously, there’s the fact that it makes waiting for things not only tolerable but enjoyable (when do I next need to go to the DMV?), and I love getting the awed compliments that people undoubtedly share as soon as they learn that I knit something that I’m wearing. Yay ego boosts!

  24. Renee said:

    I don’t know if I have a favorite yarn…I love lots of soft yarns especially in bright colors!
    I crochet instead of knitting, and love making beautiful, useful objects that I can show off. Crocheting is also good for my mental health and it’s productive fidgeting when I can’t sit still!

  25. Andi said:

    What I love about knitting is everything it has given back to me over the years. It had kept me warm. Taught me new skills. Gave me the satisfaction of giving a gift the recipient truly appreciates. Introduced me to people I wouldn’t have met otherwise — both online and in real life. That’s probably the most important part.

  26. I think it goes without saying that I love yarn and knitting with all my heart. My current favorite project is the Crocus cardigan by Elizabeth Smith. I’ve actually knit two of this pattern, and I’m actually wanting to cast on for a third. It’s great for mindless knitting, and I have been wearing it pretty much ever day since I finished it. Happy Valentines!

  27. Mari said:

    This yarn looks lovely, and you’re right, I’ve never heard of it. I’d love to give it a try!

