Shoot!

You guys, I was so close! I almost had a new post for every day of Hanukkah! Not that I celebrate it, but once I started my daily posts, I realized I was coinciding with the holiday. I even had a couple more things I could have posted about, too. Well, life happens. I had to get back to Chicago for some personal business and the blog had to go on the back burner for a while. When WordPress gave me that 2011 in review thing last night I was just coherent enough after 12+ hours of travel to say “cool, post this”, before falling asleep. With a night’s rest behind me, I’m ready to get back to work.

Luckily for you, reader, all that travel time means that I’ve got a few more posts to share with you. Today is a nice little brioche project I came up with on my flight west. It’s only halfway done, since I had only a single skein of the colorway with me, but there’s enough of it here to show you. The other half would just be more repeats of the motif.

I really like crossing stitches in brioche. It reminds me of celtic braids a bit. Another big selling point for me on crossing stitches is the wrong side of the work:

That’s right. One side intricate design, one side plain jane ribbing. I suppose if I was insane, I might try doing a different design on the other side, but even I have my limits. If you like the way this looks, then you’re in luck; I’m writing up a chart for the motif, to be applied to any brioche projects you want!

Here's a closer-up, brighter picture of the motif.

That brings me to my resolutions. I won’t bother you with all those pointless personal ones I’m going to give up on before January’s end, but here are my Knitting Goals for 2012:

  1. Knit something out of electrical wire to get on display at Waterfall Arts in their December craft/art exhibit.
  2. Publish at least one pattern a month, whether free or otherwise. Or rather, 12 patterns during the span of the year. If I do two this month and none in February, I’m still counting it.

What about you? Any resolutions, either personal or crafty? What does 2012 hold in store for you?

2 comments
  1. rmwest said:

    Ohh I love the idea of knitting something out of electrical wire! I don’t have any resolutions…BUT I do have a goal of running a mile every day for a month + running a 5k, 10k, and then 1/2 marathon this year.

