Day 2: Moebius Cowl in Brioche

Those gloves yesterday? They didn’t use up an entire skein. Enter the brioche moebius cowl!

Again, thank you giant cone of yarn for being such a cooperative model on short notice. And again, no thank you camera for making everything look wildly different in the daylight.

When I made my first moebius scarf, I was both excited and disappointed. Excited, because it was an interesting new technique; disappointed, because knitting from the center out really limited what I could do with designs. If I wanted something to run the length of the scarf, I would have to knit it like normal and give it a half twist before sewing the ends together. Not difficult, but being a moebius strip, the design would have to be the same on both sides.

It’s a simple design: brioche ribbing with a four-stitch cable in the center. Same on both sides, completely reversible. Nice! Seaming up the back wasn’t exactly as easy as kitchener stitch, but it was doable. Still, I think next time I’ll just cast on and off like normal and sew those edges instead. Happy Solstice! Enjoy your days getting brighter or darker, depending on your respective hemisphere.

Comments are closed.

