Will’s Jack Russel

If you’re like me, you sort of looked up a week or so ago and realized, “Crap, it’s November.” Crap, because you haven’t started any of your gifts yet, and Christmas songs are playing over the airwaves with ever-increasing frequency. This year is different, though, because I’m married now! That means gifts from the both of us rather than individually, so H and I can each be making gifts or both work on the same gift. And so it begins.

Normally, I’d try to save the gift-knitting posts for after Christmas so as not to spoil the surprise, but this one is for my brother-in-law Will. He’s 8, and I’m not sure he’s familiar with what a “blog” is yet, let alone the fact that I have one; it’s probably safe to post pictures.

Have you guys seen Knit Your Own Dog? It is, in a word, amazing. No knitting of simple “dogs” here, but a plethora of different breeds. Including a few so-ugly-they’re-cute dogs like pugs. Anyway, I picked up a copy of the book at the library and knit this guy up out of some Good Karma mill-ends. Now, I only worked a single pattern (so far, that is,) but I found it very straightforward and easy to construct. And fairly quick as well.

The only thing I didn’t like about it was that until you get it all stuffed and sewn up, it bears a striking resemblance to animal-skin rugs. Even in bright colors, it’s a little creepy to see a flayed dog sprawled in front of you. Was that too much? Sorry. Forget I said that, and look at the doggy!

2 comments
  1. Chris said:

    You are truly getting so clever and GREAT, those puppies are just adorable!!!

