The Mask

Last week was busy, folks. When I get busy, the blog frequency is the first to suffer. Let’s get right to it!

So, I made a Halloween costume recently. If the pictures in my last post weren’t clear, my mask was supposed to make me look like a sea monster of sorts. The pattern is the Dracoclava by Anne-Marie Dunbar, who actually has a few other mask patterns! I didn’t think I’d have a hard time choosing a knitted mask, but I did. But I’m not ruling the other masks out for the future. It’s never too early to think about next Halloween, you know.

The pattern was okay. It might have been nice to have a few more detailed pictures of certain sections, but I got along well enough without them. If you ever decide to do this pattern, I’ll give you one piece of advice: read the ravelry comments from other users. I never really struggled with the pattern, but I did have a few tricky spots. Part of the reason I was able to avoid trouble was that other users had an absolute mess of it in their attempt and made some sensible recommendations. How did I ever live without Ravelry before?

Pattern details aside, the mask was great. Halloween was chilly, so a face mask made of wool really hit the spot. Having a functional mouth was nice, too, since I got to sip some pumpkin tea as H and I handed out candy.

I started a few more projects since then, even finished a couple. We’ll get to all of those later, and I promise that “later” means “within the scope of the week” in this instance.

2 comments
  1. That looks amazing!

    I hope you’re planning on randomly wearing it during the winter.

    • Thanks! And yes, I think I will do that… It would certainly make my bike rides more comfortable.

