CYCLOPS!

What’s that in the sock drawer?? And just in time for Hallowe’en, too!

I’ve wanted to knit up a stuffed animal of some kind for a while; when I was given a skein of Good Karma’s “Little Monsters” colorway to knit a sample, I knew that the time had come. I looked at some stuffed monsters and animals on Ravelry until I had a good enough idea of their construction to attempt it myself. I call this a definite success in patternless knitting. I really just made a bowling pin shape, then went back and snipped out a small strand of yarn to pick up for the arms and legs. I would have used waste yarn and done afterthought limbs, but I wasn’t sure where I wanted them to be. After (mostly) finishing the knitting, I headed to Fiddlehead Artisan Supply for stuffing and felt for the eye/teeth, then put it all together that night. And now that I’ve got all the text out of the way, here are a lot of photos.

Gosh dang is this thing cute. H and I both want to keep it and prop it up all over the place. This does not bode well for when we have our own kids, but I promise to keep the blog knit-centric when that happens. Still, don’t be surprised when all of my projects become baby-sized.

Side note: I knew as I knit this that I had a template image in my head of how I wanted it to turn out. It wasn’t until afterward that I could finally place that image: John Martz’s robot. And now I kind of want to make a robot. If you don’t know about John Martz, I urge you to give “Heaven All Day” a read. It’s a favorite of mine.

Anyway, have a good week!

4 comments
  1. rebkatz said:

    OMG so cute! I especially like the pic of it reading. I think I have a project now for the wool my mom brought me from Iceland.

    • The reading picture is honestly my favorite one. Let me know how yours turns out!

      • rebkatz said:

        I will. But I can’t promise how soon it will be!

