Headgear

I’ve really got to stop doing this! I haven’t posted since the 29th? To make up for it, I’ll be doing a post every day for the next 3 days.

First of all, I got pictures of those other finished items that I’d previously forgotten, along with some new things, too. All of them hats. Want to see?

that's a cat in the background!

Item number one is in the same style as that berry hat, but with a small difference. I cast on twice as many stitches to start and then decreased back down in the first three rows. It gives it a bit of a frilly edge, though not as much as I’d have liked, as you can barely tell in the photo.

Item number two is an adult-sized hat. It was meant to be just a regular basket weave hat, but I decided I’d make every other vertical weave a cable. I like the idea, and I was more or less pleased with the end result, but I would definitely change a couple things. 1) knit/purl designs like basket weaving do not, I think, work  well in variegated yarn, and 2) the cable needs to stand out more; if I could have fit another cable twist in each section, it would show up a lot better. If I re-worked the idea in fingering or sock weight, it would certainly be doable.

Item number three: another baby hat, this one in brioche. I really like this color (Seafoam, if you’re interested) for baby clothing, and the honeycomb brioche looks great with a variegated color. The decreases were tricky, and I actually spent an entire weekend just messing around with this design until I got it right. The decreases are done in raglan style at four corners of the hat, which was the only way I could do it and maintain the stitch pattern. I’m really happy with this one.

Item number four: a child-sized pink hat, with interlocking cables. The cables are only separated by a single purl stitch, so the real beauty of it doesn’t fully emerge until it’s worn. Having no children handy for a picture, you’ll just have to take my word for it I guess. Also, WordPress can’t seem to rotate my picture, and I’m way too tired to fix it.

So, that’s what I’ve been up to, knitting-wise. I’ve got another project on the needles that I’ll post about on Friday, but I can already tell you that it’s my new favorite thing, and it’s a remake of a pattern I did (but messed up) before. Outside of knitting, I’ve been doing some more work at Good Karma. But that’s tomorrow’s post. Until then!

1 comment
  1. Chris said:

    Well done…

