Onto Newer and/or Better

Frigging FINALLY.

I’ve been terrible about posting, I know. But not for lack of knitting. I even took last Thursday off again, but the majority of my time has gone to organizing my life in boxes for the purpose of moving. That being said, don’t expect to see posts as often as before over here. I’ll be trying to get something up when I can, but moving and getting married takes precedent right now.

So, what am I doing in fiber terms? Well, I finished H’s flip-tops last week!

YES

Still need to sew on the snap buttons, but there’s no rush. One nice thing about knitting for a season 6 months away I guess.

I also started in on a Geveldak Scarf of my own design. With Nancy Marchant‘s instructions serving as the foundation, of course.

this was actually quite some time ago

This was Thursday or Friday, I think, when I wrote the original draft of this post.

I’m actually having a really fun time knitting this. I’m not sure what it is about brioche, but I could do this all day. I mean, I could knit all day regardless, but there’s something really fun about brioche for me. Or maybe I do know what it is. It’s somewhat akin to how I felt when I first learned to cable. Maybe you’re familiar? When you realize that something that looked complex, interesting, or downright impossible has suddenly been produced by your own hands. When you think “Oh, that’s all it was. Nice!” What I’m saying is, try this stuff out. Easier than you think.

At this point, I’ve got a series of shallow and steep zigs and zags, respectively, which a color flip at each turn. I’m hoping I have enough yarn to finish this out to a good length and still finish off a repeat of the pattern cleanly. I’m not going back, so it may just be a short scarf. Oh well, I say! Onwards with the scarf, and onwards towards my last days of work and of living in Chicago! Hope your weeks are all shaping up to be exciting, too.

4 comments
  1. rmwest said:

    Ohhhh I love the scarf. That seems like a technique I may have to try. Have fun with the moving and the marrying! 🙂

  2. Rue said:

    Fabulous scarf! When’s the big day? And have you finished Rock Island yet? I know the knitting is done but what about the dyeing and blocking?

    • Thanks! The wedding’s going to be June 4th.
      The dye for Rock Island is now in my possession, but since I’m moving out of my apartment on Saturday I’m leaving the whole process until I’m back at my parents’ house. Plus, there’s a ton more space where I can block it out there that is thankfully beyond the reach of my cat!

