Gastronomy, Ho!

I’m still being lazy about getting pictures of Vermouth up here, so you’ll have to wait a bit. Maybe I’ll get them done tonight? Maybe.

But that doesn’t mean a lack of content! I’ve got two non-knit projects to mention. And one is actually knitting related, so that justifies it. Onward!

The first is that yarn I’d skeined up in my post about the DIY swift. Getting it out of a ball made washing it much easier. Just fill a pot with some relatively mild shampoo and warm water, then slosh the yarn in and let it sit for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. I wasn’t concerned with the proper way to do this, really. The sweater was hideous and cost a few bucks–anything, even destruction, would improve it, and I would hardly be put out economically. But it turned to be a recipe for success.

After rinsing and letting the stuff dangle from a jury-rigged mop and stack of encyclopedias an official drying rack, the resulting yarn was… surprisingly good. Soft, clean, and squishy, the sort of thing that would probably tempt me at an LYS at the right price. For comparison, I kept a yet-to-unravel-and-wash sleeve set aside. Feel the washed stuff: lovely. Feel the sleeve: greasy sandpaper that was used as a dust cloth. It’s even better wool than I expected, and I feel okay making something from it now. But just what to make…

Project the second: oils.I could give you a long paragraph here, too, but I’m going to (try to) flex my underused brevity muscles. There’s a grocery store that sells outrageously cheap natural oils of various herbs, spices, and other things. But, the caps on the bottles lose their thread, and do not make for good storage. Luckily for me, there’s this other store that sells sweet lab equipment (and more!), amber bottles, eye droppers, and corks among them.

Cumin, Ginger, Clove, Onion, Juniper, Rosemary, Lupine, Peppergrass, Almond, Garlic

Combine the two, and you have a handy set of oils ready for cooking, baking, candy-making, and even home remedies! Instant mashed potatoes need pepping up, but you neglected to buy fresh herbs? Add a drop each of rosemary and garlic oils! Making cookies? Maybe a drop of ginger oil! Added bonus: hilarious English translations. Who knew that peppergrass oil contained “wishes”? I intend to go back sometime when anise and fennel and cumin oils are in stock. And maybe I’ll fill a bottle with something innocuous and label it Snake Oil.

Anyway, the week’s half done! Here’s hoping it’s all coasting from here out.

Shawl note: 27 of 71 repeats of the edging pattern. Getting there, but I may not be able to keep lugging this around on the CTA for the shawl’s sake.

5 comments
  1. rebkatz said:

    You found something to use the encyclopedias for!

    • You’d be surprised how many encyclopedias I’ve ended up using in simple home repair, as step stools, and as craft cutting boards.

  2. Rue said:

    The oils sound fabulous! And great progress on Rock Island! I got a bit distracted by a new baby sweater so I haven’t even wound the yarn yet. Hopefully I’ll get there in the next couple of days.

    • H and I did a test last night: mashed potatoes. One serving with garlic powder, one serving with garlic oil. The difference was amazing!

      As far as distractions go, I think babies are certainly allowable.

  3. Oi – I have some marled yarn that needs a bath in a big way. It’s crazy how some older folks didn’t feel the need to wash the lanolin out. But perhaps that lack of feeling is somewhat related to how I feel about my marled stuff?

