Days 5-7 and a Call to Suggestion

Yes, the themed week has ended, but I committed to doing it! They’re all three of them late, but enjoy them nonetheless.

Day Five: 1st April. And now for something completely different

This is an experimental blogging day to try and push your creativity in blogging to the same level that you perhaps push your creativity in the items you create.

Friday:haiku

I didn’t post squat
I was busy with Hannah
I don’t regret it

 

Now, I can’t blame it all on that. Certainly I might have had time either day of the weekend, but getting on the computer just seemed like the last thing I wanted to do. I had a very nice, relaxed weekend, my radio silence being a side effect of that.

And now today? You’d think that after so long off I’d be raring to go and have a lot to say. But I’m not and I don’t. Between not getting enough sleep (stayed up to listen to thunder, so not a total loss) and Ginger getting me up 3 hours before her usual breakfast time and barely letting me back asleep when she was done, the tone of the day was not set very well. I’ve been on time to everything, work has been about par for the course (maybe a double bogey in some areas), and nothing has really pressed upon me today. But somehow I feel rushed.

Anyway. Don’t listen to my whining.

 

Day six: 2nd April. Something to aspire to.

Is there a pattern or skill that you don’t yet feel ready to tackle but which you hope to (or think you can only dream of) tackling in the future, near or distant?

I don’t really like Fair Isle knitting, but it would really be something to be proficient at. Higher on my list, though, is to have a thorough working knowledge of different brioche stitches, and be able to identify and recreate brioche patterns from memory alone. That includes shaping. So far, I’ve only been able to brioche in rectangular shapes.

 

Day seven: 3rd April. Your knitting and crochet time.

Write about your typical crafting time.

Unless I forget my knitting or run out of yarn (I can count those times on one hand) I am ALWAYS knitting on the bus. I have a 7-mile bus ride through Chicago each way, and depending on traffic averages about an hour of travel time. Which means I am blessed with 2 hours of uninterrupted knitting time each day, the elbows of other CTA riders permitting. Even if it’s a shorter bus ride for only a few blocks, I figure that it’s still that many stitches I won’t have to do later. If my project is small enough or early on enough, I will knit while walking on occasion.

In the morning, I put my knitting in my backpack before I even think about bringing a lunch. When it comes down to it, knitting is a more integral part about the satisfaction I will experience during the day than being well-fed. (But a good sandwich helps!)

Outside of my bus rides to work, I usually spend most of Saturday and/or Sunday morning in bed, knitting and listening to the radio until I can convince myself that noon is a good time to get dressed and do something else… after one more row.

 

Vermouth, I am happy to say, is turning out perfectly! The stitches are neater, and the fit will be good. I’ve surpassed the point of ripping from last week, and am moving onwards into new ground. And I used way less yarn this time though I can’t imagine why… Oh right, maybe because it’s actually 40 inches this time!

No pictures, sorry. The jacket looks about the same as the last time you saw it, and I’ve done nothing on any of my other projects that doesn’t start with a p and have 4 syllables. (NY Times might give the crossword clue “drag one’s heels”.)

Let me end with a question with a set-up: I’ve got a set of encyclopedias from 1984. I don’t want to just chuck ’em in the recycling, but they’re too obsolete (being both old and printed) to keep around for any real purpose. Those of you whom I know read this thing are fairly crafty people. Any suggestions of what to do with them?

6 comments
  1. 1. Yay! I’m not the only one who knits while walking!

    2. My parents have an old set of encyclopedias from earlier than 1984. (Unless they ditched them already.) They remained useful to me through high school, even if some of the countries no longer existed and we were missing the volume that included the entry for “Constitution.”

    2a. I’ve seen all sorts of wall art ideas using old book pages, purses using the covers of books, “fake” books for hiding/storing things, jewelry, notecards…

    • Oh yeah, this one’s full of old countries and concepts that don’t exist anymore. Which makes them more fun to learn about!
      I’ve got a future move on the horizon and I’m trying to be very space-conscious, so wall art is probably what I want. Easier to ship, I think…

    • Oh, wow! I really love that idea! I’ll have to check the pages, but I think they might be that sort of glossy paper that’s harder to print on. Good thing I’ve got about 28 volumes worth of tries!

  2. Hannah van Loon said:

    I like the haiku:)

  3. Quite a lovely haiku. And, that is a bus ride you have, for sure! I like dedicated knitting time…a lot.

