Fourth

Whatever happened to your __________?

Write about the fate of a past knitting project. Whether it be something that you crocheted or knitted for yourself or to give to another person. An item that lives with you or something which you sent off to charity.

There are a lot of different aspects to look at when looking back at a knitting project and it can make for interesting blogging, as much of the time we blog about items recently completed, new and freshly completed. It is not so often that we look back at what has happened to these items after they have been around for a while.

How has one of your past knits lived up to wear. Maybe an item has become lost. Maybe you spent weeks knitting your giant-footed dad a pair of socks in bright pink and green stripes which he then ‘lost’. If you have knit items to donate to a good cause, you could reflect on the was in which you hope that item is still doing good for it’s owner or the cause it was made to support.

 

My… well, what to choose? Most of my early work was given away to others, or if I still have it it’s not documented. I’ll have to choose the easy route and pick something I knit for myself, since I know exactly what happened to it. My cardigan.

This was, like all of my sweaters and jackets, an ambitious project that I wouldn’t admit to probably being a bit beyond me.  And yes, the gauge was off. It belled out at the bottom, and I had to actually re-seam it folding in the edges. It’s big and there aren’t enough buttons and the shawl collar isn’t wide enough, but here’s the thing: IT IS SO SOFT. Stonehedge Fiber Mill wool, from the now-closed Arcadia Yarn. Pills like a mother, but it’s worth it.

The cardigan is, for the most part, permanently draped over the back of my desk chair. Except for when I’m wearing pajamas, in which case I always have it on. It’s the comfiest “lounging around the house” ever, and makes cold winter mornings much more bearable.

Sorry, no pictures. I don’t have the camera. Tomorrow!

5 comments
  1. Hannah van Loon said:

    I love wearing that sweater too! Lets never get rid of it:)

  2. Knitting It Out said:

    “Pills like a mother” so made me giggle.

  3. rmwest said:

    This made me think of all my old knitting projects…my first scarf was knit entirely through the back loop because I was taught to knit by a left-handed friend, and the concept was lost in translation. Fun!!

    • Haha! Oh, I’ve certainly done that before. On my first attempt at fingerless mitts, I somehow did all my knit stitches twisted. But I guess doing it wrong is the best way to learn!

      • Rachel said:

        true! now that i know how to actually make a knit stitch i like learning patterns with a twisted stitch.

