Day 3, Repeating Mistakes

How do you keep your yarn wrangling organised? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organisation exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organised at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organised, blog about an aspect of that organisation process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organised stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.

Ha! Beat you to it, blog week! I actually organized my stash recently by putting it all in the breakfront, and already posted about it.

The method of organizing is: acrylic and acrylic blends on the bottom shelf. Also on the bottom shelf are yarns I just plain don’t like, regardless of fiber content. The shelf is further divided into brands/weights and then set up from left to right in order of how much I dislike them, the worst yarns (Red Heart Super Saver, anyone?) on the left. The top shelf is very different. The top shelf is pristine fibers, lovable yarns, and skeins I have yet to wind. They are only loosely organized by weight.

And for the other half of today’s title… Vermouth. It’s going steadily, and I really like the way it looks. The stitches look a little messy, because the yarn still has kinks in it from ripping out the original sweater, but after blocking I’m sure it will be OK. The ten inches of 1×3 before going into 1×1 satisfy my love of large cuffs, without actually being the cuff itself. But (and I’d been afraid of this) it seems that it is going to be a bit too big.

Yep. Once again, despite my having swatched, counted, measured, doubted, and recounted before beginning, my gauge was off. When I swatched, I found that 18 stitches in 1×1 did indeed measure to 4 inches, almost exactly. So I dove right in, only to now re-measure and find my 1×1 has resulted in 24 stitches for every 4 inches. If this holds true mathematically, the finished piece is going to be about 133% wider than I planned on.

Do you know what this reminds me of? Every sweater, cardigan, and jacket I’ve made. Something happens between the meticulous swatching and the real knitting of the piece that completely throws off the gauge or the tension, and it only seems to come into play on these kinds of pieces. I don’t quite understand it. And if you can’t tell, it irks me. Maybe my hands are anticipating a sudden glandular disorder or insatiable craving for desserts?

I’m still enjoying the piece, but now I’m just praying that a really hot wash and dry shrinks it, otherwise I’ll end up with one more really big jacket that I only wear around the house. But even those have their place, I guess. 🙂

Comments are closed.

