Last Week’s Bus Ride; Days 1 and 2

I’ve been really lazy about getting these photos up, guys. Let’s skip the intro and get right to the good stuff. Photos!

LOOSE ENDS TIE YOUR OWN DANG SELVES IN

Across two days last week, I made two mittens, one each day. It was a productive bus ride, and I felt good about finishing something again, and so quickly after the cowl. And I decided that I would separate my posts thematically, a cowl post, a gloves post, a cast-on sweater post. You know how that went? Well, considering that these mittens have been done since before last weekend and that I have now close to 5 inches on my sweater, and nary a post has gone up, you can probably guess.

They’re a bit big, to be honest. I calculated how many stitches it would take to make a me-sized mitten, then subtracted from that in order to make it smaller. Somehow, subtracting those stitches made it… exactly my size. I’m gonna see how much these change after blocking, but if they stay this big, I have some leftover felt from BW’s mittens that I can sew in, and it should get it down to size on the inside. And who doesn’t like felt-lined mittens?

TWEEEEEd

So I’m also including the aforementioned sweater. Knit out of that green ripped cotton, coming along well. The pattern is Elisabeth Colding Sivertsen’s Vermouth. Really liking it so far. Check it out!

IM REALLY RUNNING OUT OF CLEVER NAMES FOR MY IMAGESAND ITS ALREADY EVEN BETTER THAN THIS

Also in the plans: blocking. I’m really lazy about finishing. My flip-top mittens have a couple loose ends that I still haven’t bothered to tie in, and I can never really bother myself to block anything, except for a few items in the distant past. Not anymore! I’m going to block those mittens this week, and then get them up on Etsy, along with the cowl. Likely the listing pictures will have to wait until Saturday like usual, but maybe the sun will want to cooperate with me before then.

 

And lastly!

I found out about this over at RebKnitz a while back, and totally spaced on when it was until I read her post. I’m late! So let’s do days 1 and 2 real quick.

Day 1: Part of any fibre enthusiast’s hobby is an appreciation of yarn. Choose two yarns that you have either used, are in your stash or which you yearn after and capture what it is you love or loathe about them.

If you’ve been following me a while, you might remember my post that included a rant about Lion Brand Homespun. That’s my “loathe” yarn. To sum up my grievances:

  • It’s 100% acrylic and not even trying to seem like natural fiber
  • It’s squeaky
  • It shows no stitch definition
  • It splits all the time, causing non-stretchy snags
  • It was likely spun by the souls condemned to purgatory, nothing else could be so awful

My love yarn… well, I want to pick out the hemp yarn over at Hemp Basics. It’s not explicitly for knitting, and my hoodie was a dangerously optimistic, not quite fully realized jaunt into patternless knitting. But the fiber itself is pretty great! Granted, it gives my fingers rope burn at first, but I’ve got a washcloth that’s been soaked and dried countless times, and it’s got to be one of the softest things I own. With enough washing, the hoodie will likely become similarly soft, light, and breezy. It was designed with fall in mind, but it’s obviously a summer knit. I’d like to use it again someday once I know a bit more what I’m doing, or with an actual pattern and with my ambition in check.

Day 2: Look back over your last year of projects and compare where you are in terms of skill and knowledge of your craft to this time last year. Have you learned any new skills or forms of knitting/crochet (can you crochet cable stitches now where you didn’t even know such things existed last year? Have you recently put a foot in the tiled world of entrelac? Had you even picked up a pair of needles or crochet hook this time last year?

I’m following patterns (sometimes) now, that’s a big step forward for me. I learned how to crochet little flowers, but I’m still very new to that. I’m getting a lot better at brioche knitting.

Beyond that, I’m actually getting into the world of knitting and fiber itself. A year ago I didn’t know any big names in fiber producers or pattern designers, barely went to yarn stores, and only knew other knitters by accident. I’m being more deliberate about being part of a real community of crafters, and I’ve got a tiny little Etsy store going, too. If you’re reading this then you’re part of that progression, because this blog is included. So thanks!

So my skills haven’t made any huge steps in the technical sense, but I’m now taking my knitting much more seriously. And it’s good.

2 comments
  1. Ahem, it will be Wednesday tomorrow and I’m just learning about this most exciting blogging event? I’d better post another entry this evening to catch up!

    Mits are groovy, I like them. And, that cotton looks like it’s shaping up quite nicely. Does it knit up well?

    Totally agree with you about homespun, OMG so squeaky eeech.

    • The cotton is actually better than I thought! The original sweater was very stiff and bulky-feeling, but it looks like maybe it was knit on smaller needles. I’m using 8s, and it’s a surprisingly light piece so far! Great for the coming warmer weather. The only think I wish is that I’d maybe soaked it to work out some of the kinks, because it is messing with my tension occasionally.

