Tiny Sweater; Taking Stock

Finished it! The secret project, that is.

At a quick glance you might be thinking that those are some crazy huge stitches on there, eh? Upon closer inspection the hat may look familiar…

Yes. Yes, that is a miniature shawl-collar cardigan made of leftover sock yarn. Perhaps it is the utter uselessness and frivolity of the item, but I am smitten with it. I cracked up nearly each time I stopped to really look at what I was working on. In fact, I dare say that this is one of my favorite projects thus far, and there is no way this is a one-off. I don’t know when, exactly, but I plan to make plenty more tiny clothes for him. It sort of has the satisfaction of seeing a finished garment, but the convenience of only using a sparse handful of yardage and time.

Anyway. I’d have tried posting yesterday, but I was simply not up to the task. Even now, I’m only marginally feeling more capable. While the soreness and bleeding of my wisdom teeth have passed, I’ve entered a new and not altogether pleasant phase of discomfort: dry sockets. I feel like I’m chewing on lightning or something.

When you add the newest of maladies to the fact that my wedding invites have really got to get in the mail soon, I doubt I’ll be able to do much in the way of knitting this week. But that doesn’t mean a lack of content, by no means! I’ve already got a few things in mind to share, but that’s another post.

Before I wrap up, I wanted to take stock of my list of goals for March:

RW’s Mittens. Done in red sock yarn, the pattern being Magic Mirror by Kristel Nyberg. It’ll have an accompanying headband with a crochet flower on it, which I’m sure you’ve seen around.

My sister’s ugly pants.

Thick-knit scarf, 3 strands at once on size 40 needles.

Potential hat for fiance’s cousin. Awaiting details, but it’s gonna be nice! [Didn’t happen.]

Brioche mitts. Just gotta finish the 2nd one, make the first a bit longer.

My gloves! Olive worsted, Men’s Convertible Fingerless Gloves by Knit Picks Design Team. With my own modifications, of course.

My scarf!

And non-project-wise, I want to do two instructional posts on knitted cornrows and afterthought thumbs done in flatwork.

Of course, I had no way to know that I’d be getting those orders, so I’m fine with not finishing these in the next 15 days. No way I’ll even get to cast on for my own scarf, but with the advent of spring it somehow seems less urgent. The other two are maybes, if I feel up to them.

For now, it’s back to work. Have a good Tuesday.

3 comments
  1. Chris said:

    Absolutely brilliant! Love the use of some scraps of sock yarn…will have to try it sometime…mini-projects..

  2. I think I would also be smitten with such a cute little project. It would make me giggle a lot…love that feeling.

    So sorry about the dry sockets, that is just awful. I hope that your doctor is taking good care of you!!!

    • I got some clove oil, so my teeth are doing pretty well for the time being.
      And yes, there was plenty of giggling. If I ever knit tiny, tiny socks, I don’t know what I’ll do with myself.

