Where I’ve Been

Cripes. There is way too much to catch up on. I’ve barely made a dent in the unread posts I have to read, let alone unwritten ones I have to write.

It seems, also, that I haven’t even taken a picture of the mittens lately, even though I’m halfway through the second of the pair. Still, here is a teaser photo of how it looked last week.

As you can see, this is quite the step up from when last we saw the thing. Tonight I will try to get up a post, as I’ve set a deadline of finishing it today. It’s not a “hard” deadline, as its recipient can do with out, but finishing it in time for a last winter hurrah would be ideal. BW, you shall ski in hand-knit glory, if I have anything to say about it! And here’s the current progress on the other mitten. Interestingly, they seem to be at the same point in these photos.

As I mentioned previously, I was home for the weekend as best man in my brother’s wedding. It was great! I gave a decent toast, and I got to hang out with my grandparents from Out West, whom I see much to seldom for my liking. Somehow, I was the only groomsman who was given suspenders by the rental place, a fact which I gladly flaunted. I don’t think I’ll ever wear a tux again in my life. And as far as I know, my brother is happily on his honeymoon at the moment.

My Hannah and I couldn’t help but draw countless comparisons between the wedding we attended and our visions for the one we are planning for ourselves. It’s quite different, and (hopefully) a considerable amount cheaper. But I’ll let your imaginations run away with you, and I’ll talk more about that when we get closer. Still a lot left to be done. And though my brother’s wedding was more traditional than I’d have gone for, it was impressively well put together for how quickly they were married after their engagement. It was a great weekend, all in all.

While I was home for the big event, I had some time to hunt around the house, and I was able to unearth an old creation of mine. I don’t remember the exact sort of yarn or who I made it for, but in hindsight I am still impressed with the project. For not knowing a dang thing about knitting, I ended up finding and choosing some really amazing fiber.

It’s a whole scarf of nothing but cables weaving back and forth. The color, though, was my favorite. Like knitting a scarf out of a burning house. The rest of the photos will be up in the Old Stuff Showcase. As a side note, I’m going to restructure that page sometime soon, when I’ve got a lot of free time to really sit down and work. Maybe when my wisdom teeth come out (which is in less than one week!)

Here, we’ve got a nice remake of the spiral cornrows hat, but in a grass green. Kudos to my mom for agreeing to model it! It was a custom order that I got in part due to the Etsy front page business, and it officially sold this afternoon. I re-worked the design this time ’round, and it’s even better than the black one. It was a fun knit, and a good break from my other things. I got another sale of a headband, which got shipped, and a custom order for a slouch hat. Yay!And lastly! I finally got around to meeting other knitters on purpose! Though I’ve been knitting semi-regularly for about 3.5 years now, I’ve never been to a knitting group or met another knitter in any way besides incidentally. I decided, then, that I needed to get into this community! Maybe in using ravelry, a craft blog, and patterns, I’m realizing the benefits of being part of a larger group? For whatever reason, I went to Chicago Knitters Unite‘s meetup at the Noble Tree.  Dang, you guys! I gotta do that again! If you’re a Chicago knitter and you haven’t yet, check them out! And maybe I’ll see you sometime!

Lots of exclamations in that section, I know. More tonight, with any luck. Good to be back!

2 comments
  1. Good luck with the wisdom teeth removal. I have the following recommendations for you: 1. don’t let anyone in the house with you eat pizza the first night after you get the teeth removed. It is way too sad to have other people eating pizza when you can’t. 2. Ice pack on for 20 minutes and off for 10. It really does help with the swelling. I speak from experience on both of these points.

  2. BW said:

    BW is very happy with the mitten progress 🙂

